Fasting Busyness

Busyness is becoming a plague on our society, and I fully believe that Satan would like to keep us all as busy as possible.

I recently had the opportunity to hear a message from Pastor Jay Jellison.  Jay and his wife Judy are evangelists who travel with Dan Bohi, speaking at churches all over the country.  His message was about collaborating with the Holy Spirit, and one of his points really resonated with me.  He said that our busy, fast-paced lifestyle can make it very difficult to be in tune with the Voice of the Holy Spirit.

His point is spot on.  How many of you fall into bed at the end of the day feeling like you just spent the last 12 hours in the eye of a hurricane?  How often do you say to someone, “I’d love to do that, but I’m too busy”? Busyness is becoming a plague on our society, and I fully believe that Satan would like to keep us all as busy as possible.  There are some who even see their busyness with pride!  Like it’s a badge of honor to be completely overwhelmed and busy.  So many soccer moms are proud of the fact that little Johnny is in every sport and activity.  So many career-minded folks are proud of how full their schedules are.

But how many of us can boast about the time we spend with the Lord?

After thinking about this for a few days, this message began to form.  I posted a question on Facebook that got quite a few responses.  “What can you subtract from your day to make room for God?”  I believe that it’s time that God’s people come together in a corporate fast of busyness. We need to give up busyness for Lent and keep going!  Jay and his team spend hours each day praying and praising God.  Now you may be thinking “they’re pastors so they have the time for that”, but I challenge you to think a bit differently.

I challenge you to make time with the Father a priority.  I’ve said before that “I’m too busy” is really just a synonym for “that’s not important to me”.  We make time for what is important.  Think back to that soccer mom.  If Johnny wants to add another club, mom figures out how to fit it in.  If that career person gets invited to another meeting, he will make it work.  We make time for what we have at the top of our priority list.  Starting today, put God at the top of that list.

I’m subtracting daily now.  I am making time for God in place of things that aren’t that important.  I want God to be number one on my to do list each day.  Who will join me in fasting busyness?

Leave a Reply

