Go and Sin No More…

But Jesus went to the Mount of Olives. Early in the morning He came again into the temple, and all the people were coming to Him; and He sat down and began to teach them. The scribes and the Pharisees brought a woman caught in adultery, and having set her in the center of the court, they said to Him, “Teacher, this woman has been caught in adultery, in the very act. Now in the Law Moses commanded us to stone such women; what then do You say?” They were saying this, testing Him, so that they might have grounds for accusing Him. But Jesus stooped down and with His finger wrote on the ground. Jesus finger But when they persisted in asking Him, He straightened up, and said to them, “He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone at her.” Again He stooped down and wrote on the ground. When they heard it, they began to go out one by one, beginning with the older ones, and He was left alone, and the woman, where she was, in the center of the court. Straightening up, Jesus said to her, “Woman, where are they? Did no one condemn you?” She said, “No one, Lord.” And Jesus said, “I do not condemn you, either. Go. From now on sin no more.”


I have, for some time, felt led to tackle the issue of homosexuality. I have started and deleted multiple blog posts over the last year because I struggled to adequately explain my thoughts and feelings about the topic. Recently I have read several articles that chronicled the difficulties that openly gay couples were experiencing either getting their children baptized or being baptized themselves. I began to think about what that must have felt like. I have three children. One of them is only five months old. What would I have done had someone told me that we could not dedicate him. I think we would have been devastated.

While there are specific reasons why those baptisms cannot take place it occurred to me that the why’s and why nots did not really matter to me. I am called to love people.

1 John 4:7-8 Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love.

The Bible does not ask you to accept their lifestyle. It does not ask you to participate in their lifestyle. You don’t have to hang a rainbow flag from your front porch. No one is asking you to march in a parade. We are, however, being asked to love one another. I don’t understand this notion that loving someone means that you fully back every decision they have ever made. It is folly created by Satan to build a wall between Christians and those we are called to love.

There is a change that takes place when we step out in faith and choose to love those we disagree with. Imagine that you have a friend who happens to also be gay. It is amazing what can happen when you love someone. You have made the choice to love versus judge them. You have touched there life all because you put aside yourself and allowed the love of Christ to shine through.

It is even more amazing what happens to you when you choose to love.

Friends, I want to share something that I have found helpful. It is something that I must be on my guard to constantly be mindful of. I am not the Holy Spirit. It is not my job to convict people of the sin they hide in their hearts. It is my job to love them. It is my job to form a relationship with them that exhibits Christ’s love. It is my job to bring them to Jesus.

It is His job to save them and to tell them to “go and sin no more.”

Loving people,

Jeremy

Leave a Reply

