The Drudgery Of Life

After I finished my time as a missionary in Peru South America for two and a half years, I was looking for the next big thing. After what I thought was not hearing anything from God, I struggled with what He wanted with my life now that I was back in the states. You see, in Peru I had work to do everyday. I was never short of ways to be used and grow His kingdom. When I moved back, I moved one state over from Illinois to Indiana. I started working a full time job trying to save money for a wedding in a new place where I did not know a soul, except for my fiance. I had an aching in my heart that once had a purpose, and I now felt like I was not doing enough. Even after joining the worship team and becoming the Co Youth Director at my church, I felt like I still needed to be doing more. More for Jesus, more for the kingdom of God.

I think we all feel this way at times. Sometimes we need a reminder that it is not only in the big moments that Christ is being served. If you have never read the devotional My Utmost For His Highest by Oswald Chambers, I highly suggest it. Oswald puts it best in his entry dated June, 16th:

“The greatest hindrance in our spiritual life is that we will only look for the big things to do. Yet Jesus.. took a towel and.. began to wash the disciples feet.. I must realize that my obedience even in the smallest detail of life has all of the omnipotent power of the grace of God behind it. If I will do my duty, not for duty sake but because I believe God is engineering my circumstances, then at the very point of my obedience all of the magnificent grace of God is mine through the glorious atonement by the cross of Christ. At times life can seem mundane with no apparent thrill. It is through those times that if we remain obedient, we can be ready for the moments of great inspiration which come form Him. Don’t always expect God to give you His thrilling moments, but learn to live in those common times of the drudgery of life by the power of God.”

You see, it is through obedience that Gods will is done. It is through obedience that prayer is answered, that real life is found, that true Joy is discovered, and God is glorified. Remain and abide in Him, and you will live life to the fullest. It does not matter where we are or what we are doing, for the gospel says in Colossians 3:17 “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

Alex

One thought on “The Drudgery Of Life

Leave a Reply

