My Heart

It has been months since last I wrote anything.  So much has happened in that time but retelling those events is not the purpose of this post.  My purpose for this post is to simply share my heart with you.  For the last several months I have been teaching a Sunday school class on prayer.  We have spent a lot of time looking at the connection between prayer and our relationship with our Heavenly Father.  If we want to know Him, if we want to have a level of intimacy with Him we must spend time at His feet.

Luke 10:38-42 38 Now as they were traveling along, He entered a village; and a woman named Martha welcomed Him into her home. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who was seated at the Lord’s feet, listening to His word. 40 But Martha was distracted with all her preparations; and she came up to Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to do all the serving alone? Then tell her to help me.” 41 But the Lord answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; 42 but only one thing is necessary, for Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”

I want to be like Mary.  She found a spot at the feet of Jesus.  She was “listening to His word.”  She was focused on those things that are not of this world.  Mary was focused on the unseen (2 Corinthians 4:18).  She was focused on the eternal.  She didn’t have time for the temporal things.  The preparations were nothing but a distraction that got in the way between her and the Savior.  Her place was at the feet of Jesus.

2 Corinthians 4:18 18 while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.

Martha was doing the business of the church.  She was consumed with various things that we have convinced ourselves are necessary to prepare the way for Jesus presence.  Talk about missing the forest for the trees!  Jesus was in her home and she was too busy preparing for Him that she was missing out on His visit.  Finally it occurs to her that there is all of this work that must be done and her lazy sister is sitting on the floor listening to the men talk.  She puffed up her chest and went to the pastor.  “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to do all the serving alone?”  I am doing all of the work.  I am teaching Sunday School.  I am working in the children’s department.  I am singing in the choir and lazy Mary is sitting on the floor doing nothing!

I can imagine the look on Jesus’s face in that moment.  With love and concern for Martha in His eyes He said,”Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; 42 but only one thing is necessary, for Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”  The preparations for the visit had become more important than the actual visit itself.  

Like Martha we spend so much time getting ready for the service that we miss the opportunity to have intimate communion with Him.  We can’t be bothered by His actual presence.  I want to be more like Mary.  I don’t want to be bothered with the preparation.  I want to spend my time sitting at His feet with my head on my father’s knees.  I want to live and breathe our Savior.  I want the power of Christ to flow through me in such a way that people will be compelled to ask me what is going on in my life.  

That type of intimate relationship is possible.  James 4:8 Draw near to God and He will draw near to you…  We need only to take one step because He wants to draw near to us.

Listening to the voice,

Jeremy

Leave a Reply

