IT IS NOT OK!

03681baEvery Tuesday I meet with some guys at the Dunkin Donuts.   We sit around drinking coffee talking about sports, family, and work.  We also discuss what are our are triumphs and struggles.  We made a pact that within this group we will be 100% real.  There is an accountability with these men that I have never had before in my life.  There is one question that is asked of each of us every time we meet.  “What scripture have you been studying this week?”  Usually you will hear “I am reading Matthew” or “I have been really enjoying Psalms”.  There are times when one of us is not actively spending time in the word.  The response to that guy is always the same.  IT IS NOT OK!

We have three guys who have started new jobs.  Two of those guys have a new baby in their home.  One of them was just recently married.  One other guy just moved into a new house.  All of them are dealing with the ups and downs of day to day life and none of them have a good excuse to not be spending time in the word.   I am going to give it to you straight.  If you are not reading your Bible every single day it is not ok.

Any one of the guys I mentioned have ample opportunity to come up with an excuse to explain why they might not be digging into the word of God.  Some of us, myself included, have attempted to come up with excuses during those times when we were not putting in our best effort.  It is important to remember in those times that spending time in the word is an integral part of our relationship with Christ.

John 6:50-71

This is the bread that comes down from heaven, so that one may eat of it and not die. I am the living bread that cameman-reading-bible down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. And the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.” The Jews then disputed among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.

It is pretty simple.  You cannot be a man of God if you are not spending time in the word.  We must hold ourselves and our Christian brothers accountable for the time we are spending in the word.  I think you will find that the effort was well worth your time.

Listening to the voice,

Jeremy

Leave a Reply

