Pardon my french!

I work from home.  One of the things that I love about being home is that I have a window that allows me to look right down the street.  Every afternoon I get to watch for the school bus.  I love that moment when I look over my keyboard to see the blinking lights followed by two smiling faces running along the sidewalk.  There is nothing better than waiting on the front porch to get those first after school hugs.

One particular afternoon the kids got home with the usual flurry of activity.  We were all in the kitchen because the bus ride home creates a ravenous hunger that must be addressed immediately.  I had asked one of them to let the dog out.  They were kneeling at the back door hooking up our dog, Oscar.  What happened next made time stand still.  My sweet child said, “Da#*”.  My first thought was that I didn’t just hear what I thought I did.  My next thought was where on earth did they hear that?  We had a lengthy conversation about where they had heard that word and why we don’t talk like that.

Parental-Advisory-Explicit-ContentKids repeat what they hear.  This is not new behavior.  My child was not breaking new ground.  Inspite of that I couldn’t shake the feeling that I was missing something important.  Then it occurred to me that it might be possible that the kids had heard it at home.  The Lord really started to work on me.  I began to really consider the types of things that I was letting into my home.  It started with television.  We have become desensitized from the never ending onslaught of profane language.  It is everywhere.  You hear it in restaurants, at stores, on the radio, and from people on the street.  We have become so use to it that we allow it to walk right in the front door.

If that was it I could correct it and sleep easy.  Unfortunately that was not it.  I continued to take a hard look but what I discovered did not make me happy.  I had fallen into the same trap that many of us have been caught up in.  I had allowed the world to alter my perspective.  I told myself that using profanity was ok because I hardly ever did it.  The occasional slip of the tongue was fine because it was only around other guys or because the children were never around.  The truth is that I had forgotten the lesson taught in Romans 12:2, And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.

In this verse Paul is telling them to not be devoted to the vain fashions and pleasures of bigstock-An-angry-mob-of-people-swears-40556050-660x405this world but to nurture a spirit that is drawn from the Lord.  We are to be transformed.  When we are transformed through Christ our minds are renewed.  It is that renewal that allows us to discern the will of God.  That is the legacy I want to pass on to my kids.  I do not want to pass on apathy and conformity to a society that has lost its way.  I want my children to imitate my love for Christ.  I want them to stand up and be counted.  That doesn’t happen if I don’t first represent those ideals at home.

Take courage my friends.  The same God who whispered Romans 12:2 into Paul’s ears can also help you.  If you are struggling with the things that come out of your mouth then I want to partner with you in prayer.  You can send me a message on our Facebook page or leave a note on the Prayer Wall.  Together with the Lords help you can be victorious.

Listening to the voice,

Jeremy

Leave a Reply

