Jeremy’s Next Chapter

What chapter of life are you in?  Sometimes chapters can be onerous and you can’t wait to get past the day to day drudgery of it all.  There are other chapters that are sad and have the potential to rip your heart out.  We all love those chapters that you can’t wait to see what happens next.  Those are the real page turners that are stuffed full of self revelation and growth.  If you have been reading my blogs from the beginning then you will know my story.  I have from time to time taken the time to give you a status update of what chapter the kids and I are in.

The last year has been pretty exciting.  Kevin and I are very excited about the future of small2TALL.  I believe the Lord is preparing this ministry to do great things for the Kingdom.  I am looking forward to more opportunities to write.  Writing has been a lifelong passion of mine and I can’t wait to see what I write next.  I have had a book on the back burner for some time.  It might be time to dust it off and give it another go.  I am also excited about the opportunity to preach.  During the summer of 2013 I spent a lot of time traveling and sharing my story.  I don’t have anything scheduled at the moment  but I know there will be opportunities and I can’t wait.

Earlier this year I got involved with another ministry through my girlfriend at the time.  This ministry is planting churches in the city of Chicago.  It has been an amazing experience.  It has both challenged my faith and stretched me in incredible ways.  It opened my eyes to the fundamental truth that reaching people for Christ boils down to relationships.  We don’t have to create fancy programs or new fad Sunday School programs to get people into a position to hear the salvation message.  The only thing that we need to do is to open our front door and walk to the closest neighbor.  Pastor Carlos Lonberger said, “God has lit the church on fire and stuck it right in the middle of the darkness.”  We are the light in the darkness of our neighborhoods and making friends with those we share a street with is an easy first step.

This year has been a good one.  The Lord has been so incredibly faithful.  There is still much to be excited about as we look forward to the rest of 2014.  In March I asked the most incredible woman to marry me (and she said yes).  The date is set for mid-September.  We are super busy planning a move to Chicago for the kids and I while we also plan a wedding.  Marji is a blessing from God and I can’t wait to start our life together.

Each chapter of our lives has meaning.  There are times we need to be reflective and times we need to take action.  There are times we need to heal and times we need to execute changes in direction.  Over the last several years I have experienced many of those times.  I didn’t do it all on my own.  If the truth be told I didn’t do any of it on my own.  I made a choice to put my faith and trust in the Lord and it has made all the difference.

Following the voice,

Jeremy

Leave a Reply

